How many seats are there in Bihar Legislative Assembly 2020?

How many seats are there in Bihar Legislative Assembly 2020?

The term of the previous Sixteenth Legislative Assembly of Bihar ended on 29 November 2020. The election was held in three phases for a total of 243 seats:- the first for 71 seats on 28 October 2020, the second for 94 seats on 3 November 2020, and the third for the remaining 78 seats on 7 November 2020.

Who won the Bihar Legislative Council for graduates’and teachers’ constituencies?

The Bharatiya Janata Party and the Janata Dal (United) have won three of the eight MLC constituencies of the Bihar Legislative Council for Graduates’and Teachers’. BJP leader Nawal Kishore Yadav has emerged victorious from Patna teachers’ constituency. This will be his fifth term. He defeated Nayab Ali of Congress.

Who is the present Chief Minister of Bihar?

After the elections, the incumbent Chief Minister Nitish Kumar was elected as the leader of the National Democratic Alliance in Bihar and was sworn in again as Chief Minister, whereas two new deputy Chief Ministers, Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi were inducted to the new ministry.

Why is Bihar an economically backward state?

Bihar, for a long time, has been an economically backward state and sends large numbers of migrant laborers to cities across the country. Due to the coronavirus pandemic lockdown, thousands of migrant laborers were forced to return to their home states due to lack of work, and Bihar was one of the most affected by the ensuing humanitarian crisis.

What is the electoral system of Bihar?

The Bihar electoral system consists of the national level representation, the Lok Sabha delegation and the Rajya Sabha delegation. The state level representation of Bihar comprises the legislative assembly and the legislative council.

Which is the Upper House of the state government in Bihar?

The Bihar Legislative Council is the upper house of the state government. All the states that have a bicameral legislature consist of an upper house also known as the Vidhan Parishad. In 2010, the Indian Parliament passed an act that was meant to re-establish the legislative council for a seventh state.


Back to Top