Who are the 4 Sunni caliphs?

Who are the 4 Sunni caliphs?

Rashidun, (Arabic: “Rightly Guided,” or “Perfect”), the first four caliphs of the Islamic community, known in Muslim history as the orthodox or patriarchal caliphs: Abū Bakr (reigned 632–634), ʿUmar (reigned 634–644), ʿUthmān (reigned 644–656), and ʿAlī (reigned 656–661).

Who was the Khalifa after Muhammad?

After Muhammad’s death in 632 CE, his friend Abu Bakr was named caliph and ruler of the Islamic community, or Ummah. Sunni Muslims believe that Abu Bakr was the proper successor, while Shi’a Muslims believe that Ali should have succeed Muhammad as caliph.

Who is Islam’s caliph?

The leader of a caliphate is called the caliph, meaning deputy or representative. All caliphs are believed to be the successor to Prophet Muhammad. Muhammad was not a caliph; according to the Quran he was the last and greatest of the prophets. That means no one can replace Muhammad as the messenger of God.

Who was the fifth caliph?

ʿAbd al-Malik, in full ʿAbd al-Malik ibn Marwān, (born 646/647, Medina, Arabia—died October 705, Damascus), fifth caliph (685–705 ce) of the Umayyad Arab dynasty centred in Damascus.

Who was the last rashidun Caliph?

Abu Bakr
Abu Bakr was succeeded by Umar, his appointed successor from the Banu Adi clan, who continued the conquest of Persia, eventually leading to the fall of the Sasanian Empire in 651….Rashidun Caliphate.

Rashidun Caliphate الخلافة الراشدة
• 632–634 Abu Bakr (first)
• 634–644 Umar
• 644–656 Uthman
• 656–661 Ali

Who was the last caliph of the Rashidun Caliphate?

The Rashidun Caliphate (Arabic: اَلْخِلَافَةُ ٱلرَّاشِدَةُ, romanized: al-Khilāfah ar-Rāšidah) was the first of the four major caliphates established after the death of the Islamic prophet Muhammad….Rashidun Caliphate.

Rashidun Caliphate الخلافة الراشدة
• 632–634 Abu Bakr (first)
• 634–644 Umar
• 644–656 Uthman
• 656–661 Ali (last)

Who can be caliph?

Choosing a caliph from outside the Quraysh bloodline is a controversial issue among Muslim scholars. There are two views on this matter. According to the first view, any person who has necessary qualifications and knows Islamic principles can be a ruler and a caliph. The Kharijite and Mutazilate sects hold this view.

Who is the third caliph?

Uthman ibn Affan’s
Uthman ibn Affan’s reign (644–656) was undoubtedly one of the most formative in this tumultuous period. Born in the Hijaz (Arabia) into an Umayyad family in the Quraysh clan, Uthman was a companion of the Prophet. He was already in his mid-sixties when he was elected third caliph.

Who were the Rightly Guided Caliphs?

Who were the four rightly guided caliphs and what occurred under their rule? The First Four Caliphs included Abu Bakr, Umar Ibn al-Khattab, Uthman ibn Affan, and Ali ibn Abi Talib. Umayyad (661-750 CE) – Under the rule of the Umayyad Caliphate , the Islamic Empire expanded rapidly to include much of northern Africa, western India, and Spain.

Are caliphs successors of Muhammad?

Muhammad’s successors (the four caliphs) were appointed by the Muslim community to carry out the leadership and rule of Islam throughout the Arabian peninsula and other parts of the world. The four caliphs were more political figures than spiritual leaders.

Who was the first caliph?

The first caliph was Abu Bakr and the last caliph was Abdulmejid II. The first caliphate, the Rāshidun Caliphate , immediately succeeded Muhammad after his death in 632. The four Rāshidun caliphs were chosen through shura, a process of community consultation that some consider to be an early form of Islamic democracy.


Back to Top