Who is the largest party in Ireland?

Who is the largest party in Ireland?

Sinn Féin. Sinn Féin is the largest party in the Dáil and the second-largest party in the Northern Assembly. The name Sinn Féin, meaning ‘ourselves’, has been used by a number of political organisations in Ireland since 1905, when first used by Arthur Griffith.

How many seats do Sinn Fein have in Northern Ireland?


Party Seats Votes
Total Total votes
Sinn Féin 7 181,853
SDLP 2 118,737
Alliance 1 134,115

What party runs Northern Ireland?

Party details

Party Current leader Designation
Social Democratic and Labour Party Colum Eastwood Nationalist
Ulster Unionist Party Doug Beattie Unionist
Alliance Party of Northern Ireland Naomi Long Other
Green Party in Northern Ireland Clare Bailey Other

What does Sinn Fein literally mean?

“Ourselves Alone” The literal translation of sinn féin is “ourselves” or “we ourselves”. Among Irish speakers, “Sinn féin!

What party controls Ireland?

In June 2020, leader of Fianna Fáil, Micheál Martin, became the new Taoiseach (head of government).

Who is the leader of Sinn Fein in Northern Ireland?

Mary Lou McDonald
Sinn Féin/Presidents
Incumbent. Mary Lou McDonald The president of Sinn Féin (Irish: Uachtarán Shinn Féin) is the most senior politician within the Sinn Féin political party in Ireland.

Who is in charge in Northern Ireland?

First Minister and deputy First Minister of Northern Ireland
Logo of the Northern Ireland Executive
Incumbent Paul Givan MLA Michelle O’Neill MLA
Appointer Northern Ireland Assembly
Term length At the discretion of the single largest party in each of the two largest community designations within the Northern Ireland Assembly

Who controls Northern Ireland?

Since 1998, Northern Ireland has had devolved government within the United Kingdom, presided over by the Northern Ireland Assembly and a cross-community government (the Northern Ireland Executive). The UK Government and UK Parliament are responsible for reserved and excepted matters.

Who are the Sinn Fein TDS?

Members of Dáil Éireann

  • Mary Lou McDonald, TD for Dublin Central.
  • Denise Mitchell, TD for Dublin Bay North.
  • Chris Andrews, TD for Dublin Bay South.
  • Louise O’Reilly, TD for Dublin Fingal.
  • Eoin Ó Broin, TD for Dublin Mid-West.
  • Mark Ward, TD for Dublin Mid-West.
  • Dessie Ellis, TD for Dublin North-West.

What is the Sinn Féin party in Northern Ireland?

Sinn Féin is one of the two largest parties in the Northern Ireland Assembly, currently holding the same number of seats there as the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP). Sinn Féin is the largest nationalist party in that assembly, and it held four ministerial posts in the most recent power-sharing Northern Ireland Executive.

Who was the founder of Sinn Féin?

Arthur Griffith. Sinn Féin was founded on 28 November 1905, when, at the first annual Convention of the National Council, Arthur Griffith outlined the Sinn Féin policy, “to establish in Ireland’s capital a national legislature endowed with the moral authority of the Irish nation”.

Is Sinn Féin left or right-wing?

Sinn Féin is a democratic socialist and left-wing party. In the European Parliament, the party aligns itself with the European United Left–Nordic Green Left (GUE/NGL) parliamentary group.

When did Sinn Féin split from Ira?

A split in January 1970, mirroring a split in the IRA, led to the emergence of two groups calling themselves Sinn Féin.


Back to Top