Can you live in one school district and go to another in Arizona?

Can you live in one school district and go to another in Arizona?

Arizona school districts must accept all children who live within their boundaries. But Arizona is an open enrollment state, which means parents can enroll their children in schools outside of their home school and home district boundaries, space permitting. This applies to charter school enrollment, too.

Does Arizona have school choice?

If you live in Arizona, you have access to more K-12 education options than you might realize. Arizona families can choose from traditional public schools, public charter schools, public magnet schools, private schools, online academies, homeschooling, and learning pods.

How do I drop out of school in Arizona?

Arizona allows students to leave school without graduating as soon as they turn 16 or finish tenth grade. Under Arizona’s “compulsory education” laws, children must attend public, private, or home school until their 16th birthday.

Does Arizona pay to homeschool?

Or if you keep your kid out of school all through the K-12 years, you can take all that money you’ve saved up and use it to pay for college tuition. Homeschooling is legal in Arizona, and parents who use it understand they get no money from the state.

Is school free in Arizona?

Thousands of Arizona high school students can now get free college tuition thanks to a new statewide scholarship program. The goal is to make higher education more accessible for students from low-income families, a necessary step for a strong future economy in the state.

Why do students attend alternative schools?

Alternative schools are designed to educate students who have not been successful in regular schools, often because of behavior, disciplinary and safety concerns. An alternative school may involve a range of different educational settings other than the typical school.

What age can you quit school in Arizona?

16 years of age
No. Arizona law (A.R.S. § 15-803) states that ‘It is unlawful for any child between six and sixteen years of age to fail to attend school during the hours school is in session. ‘ So, a kid must be over 16 years of age to legally drop out of school.

Is unschooling legal in Arizona?

Still, unschooling is perfectly legal in Arizona, says Kim Fields, program coordinator for the Pima County School Superintendent’s office. Arizona’s home-schooling laws are among the most liberal in the nation, Fields said. Parents aren’t required to provide any proof their kids are learning.


Back to Top