What are the 7 areas of documentation of the neurological exam?

What are the 7 areas of documentation of the neurological exam?

The neurological exam can be organized into 7 categories: (1) mental status, (2) cranial nerves, (3) motor system, (4) reflexes, (5) sensory system, (6) coordination, and (7) station and gait.

What are the typical components of a neurological examination?

The neurologic examination is typically divided into eight components: mental status; skull, spine and meninges; cranial nerves; motor examination; sensory examination; coordination; reflexes; and gait and station. The mental status is an extremely important part of the neurologic examination that is often overlooked.

What are the four components of a rapid neurological assessment?

There are many components to a neurological exam, including cognitive testing, motor strength and control, sensory function, gait (walking), cranial nerve testing, and balance.

What six things are assessed in the neurological exam?

The following is an overview of some of the areas that may be tested and evaluated during a neurological exam:

  • Mental status.
  • Motor function and balance.
  • Sensory exam.
  • Newborn and infant reflexes.
  • Reflexes in the older child and adult.
  • Evaluation of the nerves of the brain.
  • Coordination exam:

When is a neurological assessment appropriate?

When to Conduct a Neurological Assessment A neuro assessment is conducted if a person has experienced trauma or head injury, or reports a range of symptoms that may include dizziness, blurry vision, confusion, or difficulty with motor functions. This is done to detect neurological damage or disease.

How do you present a neurological exam?

You should present the details, almost anticipating what needs to be heard at that given time. The exam should be abbreviated to convey what is important. Also, remember to stay organized: 1) mental status, 2) language, 3) cranial nerves, 4) motor, 5) reflexes, 6) sensory, 7) coordination and gait.

What are the 5 steps in the neurological assessment?

What is done during a neurological exam?

  1. Mental status.
  2. Motor function and balance.
  3. Sensory exam.
  4. Newborn and infant reflexes.
  5. Reflexes in the older child and adult.
  6. Evaluation of the nerves of the brain.
  7. Coordination exam:

How do I check my neurological status?

A neurological assessment involves checking the patient in the main areas in which changes are most likely to occur:

  1. Level of consciousness.
  2. Pupillary reaction.
  3. Motor function.
  4. Sensory function.
  5. Vital signs.

What is a full neurological assessment?

A thorough neurologic assessment will include assessing mental status, cranial nerves, motor and sensory function, pupillary response, reflexes, the cerebellum, and vital signs. However, unless you work in a neuro unit, you won’t typically need to perform a sensory and cerebellar assessment.

How do you record a neurological exam?

Documentation of a basic, normal neuro exam should look something along the lines of the following: The patient is alert and oriented to person, place, and time with normal speech. No motor deficits are noted, with muscle strength 5/5 bilaterally. Sensation is intact bilaterally.

What is a neurological assessment?

Listen to pronunciation. (NOOR-oh-LAH-jih-kul eg-ZAM) A series of questions and tests to check brain, spinal cord, and nerve function. The exam checks a person’s mental status, coordination, ability to walk, and how well the muscles, sensory systems, and deep tendon reflexes work.

What are the usual sensory examinations done?

The sensory exam involves evaluation of pain (or temperature), light touch, position sense, vibration, and discriminative sensations. This portion of the exam is very subjective, and may become unreliable if repeated in quick succession. Therefore, your exam should not be rushed, but must proceed efficiently.


Back to Top