What are the 7 World Heritage Sites in South Africa?

What are the 7 World Heritage Sites in South Africa?

South Africa has eight World Heritage Sites proclaimed by UNESCO, namely:

  • Robben Island (Western Cape).
  • iSimangaliso Wetland Park (KwaZulu-Natal).
  • Cradle of Humankind (Gauteng).
  • Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park (KwaZulu-Natal).
  • Mapungubwe Heritage Site (Limpopo).
  • Cape Floral Kingdom (Western Cape).

What are the 9 World Heritage Sites in South Africa?

List of World Heritage Sites in South Africa

  • Fossil Hominid Sites of South Africa.
  • Mapungubwe Cultural Landscape.
  • Richtersveld Cultural and Botanical Landscape.
  • Robben Island.
  • Cape Floral.
  • iSimangaliso Wetland Park.
  • Vredefort Dome.
  • uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park.

What are the 10 world heritage sites in South Africa?

Top 10 Heritage sites in South Africa

  1. Robben Island, Western Cape.
  2. Vredefort Dome, Free State.
  3. uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, KwaZulu-Natal.
  4. Cradle of Humankind, Gauteng.
  5. Mapungubwe Cultural Landscape, Limpopo.
  6. iSimangaliso Wetland Park, Kwa-Zulu Natal.
  7. The Castle of Good Hope, Western Cape.
  8. Pilgrim’s Rest, Mpumalanga.

How many Unesco World Heritage sites are in Africa?

147 World Heritage Sites
The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) has designated 147 World Heritage Sites in Africa. These sites are located in 46 countries (also called “state parties”).

How many heritages are in the South?

India proudly abodes 38 UNESCO World Heritage Sites that include 30 cultural destinations, 7 natural sites, and 1 fall among mixed criteria. Although North India houses the capital city of India and many other magnificent monuments, you just cannot ignore the undaunting charm of South India that shines in a unique way.

Why is Machu Picchu a World Heritage Site?

Fortified atop the Andes Mountains, Machu Picchu is one of the most iconic structures in South America. This archaeological site is steeped in history, undoubtedly making it one of the top UNESCO World Heritage Sites. This citadel was built in the 1400s under the Inca Empire, which dominated the region at the time.

What are the top UNESCO World Heritage Sites to visit?

Machu Picchu, one of the top UNESCO World Heritage Sites, was abandoned in the 1500s during the Spanish Conquest. It was not re-discovered until the early 1900s. 4. Pyramids of Giza, Egypt The Ancient Pyramids of Giza were built around 2,500 B.C.

How many UNESCO World Heritage Sites are there in 2021?

Today, there are over 1,000 UNESCO World Heritage Sites across 167 countries. I perused this UNESCO list to come up with the 28 best and most beautiful UNESCO World Heritage Sites to visit in 2021. Without further ado, let’s get to it!

What is the Andean road system?

The Qhapaq Ñan, Andean Road System is an extraordinary road network through one of the world’s most extreme geographical terrains used over several centuries by caravans, travellers, messengers, armies and whole population groups amounting up to 40,000 people.


Back to Top