What are the qualities of Durga?

What are the qualities of Durga?

Devi Durga is considered as the feminine epitome of strength. She is depicted in variety of Vedic literature as a goddess having feminine prowess, power, determination, wisdom and punishment much beyond this material world.

What are the 9 Roops of Durga Maa?

Here are the nine forms of Goddess Durga:

  • Goddess Shailputri. Goddess Shailputri is the first manifestation of Goddess Durga.
  • Goddess Brahmacharini.
  • Goddess Chandraghanta.
  • Goddess Kushmanda.
  • Goddess Skandmata.
  • Goddess Katyayani.
  • Goddess Kaalratri.
  • Goddess Mahagauri.

What is in Durga’s hands?

The ten arms of Lord Durga symbolize that she protects her devotees from all directions namely the eight corners and from the sky and the earth. The ten hands of Lord Durga hold in them a conch, discuss, lotus, sword, bow with arrow, trishul, mace, thunderbolt, snake and flame.

What do the 3 eyes of goddess Durga represent?

Like Bhagwan Shiva (Lord Shiva), Mother Durga has 3 eyes. She is referred to as “Triyambake” meaning the three eyed Goddess. The left eye represents desire (chandra – the moon), the right eye represents action (surya – the sun), and the central eye knowledge (agni – fire).

Who is Durga mata?

Durga, (Sanskrit: “the Inaccessible”) in Hinduism, a principal form of the Goddess, also known as Devi and Shakti. According to legend, Durga was created for the slaying of the buffalo demon Mahishasura by Brahma, Vishnu, Shiva, and the lesser gods, who were otherwise powerless to overcome him. …

Who is Kali Mata?

Kali, (Sanskrit: “She Who Is Black” or “She Who Is Death”) in Hinduism, goddess of time, doomsday, and death, or the black goddess (the feminine form of Sanskrit kala, “time-doomsday-death” or “black”).

Who is Shailputri Mata?

Goddess Shailputri is an absolute form of Mother Nature. She is the embodiment of patience and devotion. She is also Goddess Parvati who is revered as the consort of Lord Shiva in this form.

What are Durga’s weapons?

Affiliation Devi, Shakti, Adi Shakti, Parvati, Sati, Chandi, Kaushiki, Kali, Adi Parashakti
Weapon Chakra (discus), Shankha (conch shell), Trishula (trident), Gada (mace), Bow and Arrow, Khanda (sword) and Shield, Ghanta (bell)
Mount Tiger or Lion (Manastāla)
Festivals Durga Puja, Durga Ashtami, Navratri, Vijayadashami

What is trishul weapon?

Trishula (Sanskrit: त्रिशूल, IAST: triśūla) or trishul is a trident, a divine symbol, commonly used as one of the principal symbols in Sanatana Dharma. In India and Thailand, the term also often refers to a short-handled weapon which may be mounted on a daṇḍa (Sanskrit: दण्ड, meaning ‘staff’).

How many eyes does Durga mata have?

three eyes
Goddess Durga is known as Triyambake which means She has three eyes. Her three eyes signify Agni, Surya and Chandra.

What do the three eyes represent?

The concept of the third eye is an ancient one. One of the most powerful and important gods in Hinduism, Shiva, is often depicted with a third eye, representing his wisdom and enlightenment—but also representing the power of destruction.

What does Durga look like in real life?

Durga’s Appearance. Befitting her role as mother protector, Durga is multi-limbed so that she may always be ready to battle evil from any direction. In most depictions, she has between eight and 18 arms and holds a symbolic object in each hand. Like her consort Shiva, the goddess Durga is also referred to as Triyambake (the three-eyed goddess).

Who is the goddess Durga Mata?

Durga Mata (Florina Darling) is one of the “giant stars” among Yogananda’s constellation of disciples and is actually the “second female star” in his Heaven despite being comparatively undiscovered.

Why is Durga called the three-eyed goddess?

Like her consort Shiva, the goddess Durga is also referred to as Triyambake (the three-eyed goddess). Her left eye represents desire, symbolized by the moon; her right eye represents action, symbolized by the sun; and her middle eye stands for knowledge, symbolized by fire.

Why does Goddess Durga have 8 hands?

Goddess Durga Iconography. There are certain distinct features of durga that make her the supreme Shakti. Her 8 hands symbolize the eight directions in which she protects her devotees. She also possesses three eyes giving her the name triyambake.


Back to Top