What are the types of governance system in tribal area?

What are the types of governance system in tribal area?

There are two views on the dimension of politics and governance in tribal areas. The informal politics is represented by the traditional tribal councils and the formal by the GP and state government. The first view holds that the present state of traditional systems in the tribal areas is highly uneven.

What is PESA law?

The Provisions of the Panchayats (Extension to Scheduled Areas) Act, 1996 or PESA is a law enacted by the Government of India for ensuring self governance through traditional Gram Sabhas for people living in the Scheduled Areas of India.

Why PESA Act is important?

PESA recognises the traditional system of the decision-making process and stands for the peoples’ self-governance. Following powers and functions have been provided to the Gram Sabhas: Right to mandatory consultation in land acquisition, resettlement and rehabilitation of displaced persons.

What is Schedule area in Indian Constitution?

As per the Constitutional provision under Article 244 (1) of the Constitution of India, the ‘Scheduled Areas’ are defined as ‘such areas as the President may by order declare to be Scheduled Areas’ – as per paragraph 6(1) of the Fifth Schedule of the Constitution of India.

What is the meaning of six schedule?

The Sixth Schedule consists of provisions for the administration of tribal areas in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram, according to Article 244 of the Indian Constitution. ADCs are bodies representing a district to which the Constitution has given varying degrees of autonomy within the state legislature.

What is PESA panchayat?

The Panchayat (Extension of the Scheduled Areas) Act, 1996 or PESA, was enacted by the Centre to ensure self-governance through gram sabhas (village assemblies) for people living in scheduled areas.

What is difference between 5th and 6th schedule?

The Fifth Schedule protects tribal interests in the states other than Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram, while the Sixth Schedule protects tribal interests in those four states excluded in the Fifth Schedule.

What is tribal sub plan approach?

The Tribal Sub-Plan (TSP) is a planning concept used in India to channelize the flow of benefits from the Central government for the development of tribal populations in the states. Areas included in the Tribal Sub-Plan are blocks or tehsils with 50 percent or more tribal population.

How many nomadic tribes are there in India?

There are 315 Nomadic Tribes and 198 Denotified Tribes. A large section of the Nomadic pastoralist tribes are known as vimukta jatis or ‘free/ liberated jatis’ because they were classed as such under the Criminal Tribes Act 1871, enacted under British rule in India.


Back to Top