What happens when you get your first DUI in Washington State?
A first time DUI in WA State is normally charged as a gross misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of 364 days in jail and a $5000 fine. Jail time or electronic home monitoring (house arrest)
How long does Washington state have to charge you with a DUI?
DUI Statute of Limitations The statute of limitations for filing DUI charges in Washington is two years from the date of the incident. That means the state, for the most part, has the entirety of that two year period to make a filing decision. There are exceptions, however.
How long do you lose your license for a DUI in Washington?
When arrested for a DUI, you are given notice of a license suspension for a minimum of 90 days up to a two year period. The suspension will begin 60 days after your DUI arrest.
How long is DUI probation in Washington state?
By law, any person convicted of a DUI in Washington must be placed on probation for a period of five years. When a person is placed on probation, it means that the court has suspended all or a portion of the sentence in exchange for the defendant’s compliance with certain conditions.
What happens if you get pulled over for a DUI in Washington State?
The only thing you have to do is exit the vehicle if asked to do so, provide your identification/registration/insurance, and comply with a lawful arrest. By not taking any tests you are forcing the officer to either let you go, or make an arrest.
How long is a DUI on your record?
five to 10 years
A DUI or DWI usually stays on your driving record for five to 10 years and your insurance record for three to five years. Besides all of the legal trouble that can come with a DUI, your driving record is blemished. A DUI stays on your driving record for five to 10 years in most states.
Is a DUI a felony in WA state?
A Washington state DUI will be charged as a felony if: (1) a driver has four or more prior DUI related offenses within 10 years; (2) a driver has a previous conviction for vehicular assault or vehicular homicide while under the influence; or (3) a driver has a previous felony DUI conviction.
Can you defer a DUI in Washington State?
If you are charged with a Washington State DUI/DWI or physical control charge and diagnosed as alcohol or drug dependent (or suffering from mental health issues) you may be eligible to petition the court for a “deferred prosecution” on your case.
Do you get probation for DUI Washington State?
Washington DUI Probation By law, any person convicted of a DUI in Washington must be placed on probation for a period of five years. When a person is placed on probation, it means that the court has suspended all or a portion of the sentence in exchange for the defendant’s compliance with certain conditions.
What are the DUI laws in the state of Washington?
Washington DUI Laws Overview Washington DUI law section 46.61.502 states that it is against the law for any person to drive a motor vehicle in the state of Washington while they are under the influence of alcohol or drugs with a blood alcohol concentration level of.08% or greater.
Should I plead not guilty at my Washington DUI arraignment?
Without any doubt, if you are accused of DUI in Washington, you should always enter a plea of not guilty at the arraignment. In most Washington State jurisdictions, there are five or six critical stages to the criminal process.
What happens after a DUI arrest in Seattle?
You may be booked into jail or just released. If arrested by certain police agencies like Seattle for DUI, you will be given a DUI citation along with the date for a mandatory court appearance a few days later. Outside of Seattle, it is more common to not receive any information about a court date.
How do I get a copy of a reduced DUI charge?
Forward a copy to the state where you’re licensed. They may also take action if required by their state laws. If the court reduces the charge from DUI to Reckless Driving, Negligent Driving, or some other reduced charge, will my driving record show the reduced charge?