What is included in a cardiac assessment?

What is included in a cardiac assessment?

A focused assessment of the cardiac system includes a review for common or concerning symptoms: Chest pain—assess location, when it occurs, intensity, type, duration, with or without exertion, radiation, associated symptoms (shortness of breath, sweating, nausea, palpitations, anxiety), and alleviating factors.

What is a cardiovascular assessment in nursing?

The physical examination of the cardiovascular system involves the interpretation of vital signs, inspection, palpation, and auscultation of heart sounds as the nurse evaluates for sufficient perfusion and cardiac output.

What examination techniques are used during the cardiovascular assessment?

The cardiac examination consists of evaluation of (1) the carotid arterial pulse and auscultation for carotid bruits; (2) the jugular venous pulse and auscultation for cervical venous hums; (3) the precordial impulses and palpation for heart sounds and murmurs; and (4) auscultation of the heart.

What is a cardiac risk assessment?

What is a cardiac risk assessment? This is a group of tests and health factors that have been proven to indicate your chance of having a cardiovascular event such as a heart attack or stroke. They have been refined to indicate the degree of risk: borderline, intermediate, or high risk.

What does the troponin test detect?

A troponin test measures the levels of troponin T or troponin I proteins in the blood. These proteins are released when the heart muscle has been damaged, such as occurs with a heart attack. The more damage there is to the heart, the greater the amount of troponin T and I there will be in the blood.

How do you do a nursing respiratory assessment?

A thorough respiratory assessment consists of inspection, palpation, percussion, and auscultation in conjunction with a comprehensive health history. Use a systematic approach and compare findings between left and right so the patient serves as his own control. If possible, have him sit up.

What landmarks do you need to find to do a thorough cardiac assessment?

The five landmarks include:

  1. The second intercostal space right sternal border (2nd ICS, RSB)
  2. The second intercostal space left sternal border (2nd ICS, LSB)
  3. The third intercostal space left sternal border (3rd ICS, LSB)
  4. The fourth intercostal space left sternal border (4th ICS, LSB)


Back to Top